Welcome to Gilbert Scott Court, a former Workhouse and a hidden gem in the heart of historic Old Amersham

The central flint and brick building designed by George Gilbert Scott was built in 1838 in Tudor style with unknapped (not split to show the dark stone inside) flints and red brick.  It was originally the Workhouse for the Amersham Union of Parishes and then became Amersham Hospital. As part of the Hospital Private Finance Initiative, when a new hospital was built recently the old part was converted into private apartments. The building together with the gatehouse and the front boundary wall are all listed as Grade II.

Article credit: Amersham Museum

Photos credits: Dawn Nolan and Amersham Museum

For more information and history:

Visit Website

AddressWhielden Street, Old Amersham